Published sites, or templates, particularly the obsolete ones, can be deleted to prevent further edits or views. When a site gets deleted, all associated links will be removed, as well.
You can reach out to the Support team to possibly recover deleted sites or templates.
To delete a site or template:
Select the site or template from the Sites and Templates dashboard.
Click on More from the Site Details menu.
Under Site Management, hover to Delete Site and click the Delete link.