User permission to access sites/templates can be set up or changed in the Permissions tab of the Site Details, or in the Template Details. By default, only those users with administrator roles can access unlocked sites/templates.
All new sites/templates are unlocked by default, whether they were created from scratch, from a template, or duplicated from an existing site. The site/template creator is automatically granted access, regardless of user role. When sites/templates are locked, only those users added in the Permissions section of the Site Details or Template Details can view and access the site/template.
To set or change user access to a site or template:
Select your site/template, from the Sites and Templates Dashboard;
Click the Permissions tab;
Toggle the Unlocked/Locked button to change the site/template access permission:
Unlocked status - used as default permission for newly created or duplicated sites/templates. While a site/template is unlocked, all administrators in the account are granted full permission by default. As administrators cannot be removed from the list, the Remove button is greyed out. Non-administrators can be added or removed manually by clicking the Add or Remove button by their name;
Locked status - a user with an administrator role can change the site/template access permission to locked. Once a site/template is locked, the administrator who locked it should manually give access permission to the appropriate users and administrators. Only users and administrators who were given access permission can view and edit the site/template;
Click Add beside the name of the User that needs access to the site/template, or click Remove if the User does not need to see and access the site/template;
Roles and permissions related to user access to sites and templates
Can assign and
Has default access
Has access to
Learn more about the user access permission to sites, templates and folders in this article.