Overview

Enterprise accounts may enable user roles which are designed to allow different levels of access to the users in your Zoomforth account. For example, user roles control which individuals in the account may create, edit, and view sites, among other permissions. 

Watch this video or continue reading the article below to learn more:

There are four user roles: 

  • Account Administrator

  • Content Administrator

  • Editor

  • Author

Each role has a different level of constraint on its ability to make changes in your account.

User Roles

The four user roles are split into two broad categories: Administrators and Content Collaborators. The administrator category is composed of Account Administrators and Content Administrators. Editors, and Authors are all considered Content Collaborators. Administrators have both administrative and content management privileges whereas content collaborators only have certain content management privileges.

Account Administrator: Account administrators have no constraints on their ability make changes in the Zoomforth account. They have full administrative privileges and full access to the account organization site. This means that they can:

  • invite users, set and change the roles of other users

  • revoke access to the account

  • change the billing information in the account

  • assign or remove users from certain sites.

Account administrators have full content management privileges, such as:

  • create new sites

  • view all sites in the account

  • delete any of the sites in the account

  • publish sites that already exist, that they created, or that were submitted for approval

  • edit any of the themes in the account by changing or hiding certain themes

Further, they can change metadata associated with sites. This means that they can:

  • change the viewing permissions

  • convert sites into templates

  • edit labels (information that tags sites and sorts them into folders)

  • change a site URL

Content Administrator: Content administrator have constrained administrative privileges. They can view a basic list of the users and their roles but cannot:

  • invite users

  • set or change the roles of other users

  • revoke access to the account

  • view the billing information attached to the Zoomforth account

They can, however, assign or remove users from sites. Content administrator, like account administrator, have full content management privileges, such as:

  • create new sites

  • view all sites in the account

  • delete any of the sites in the account and

  • publish sites that already exist, that they created, or that were submitted for approval

  • edit any of the themes in the account by changing or hiding certain themes

Further, they can change metadata associated with sites. This means that they can

  • change the viewing permissions

  • convert sites into templates

  • edit labels (information that tags sites and sorts them into folders)

  • change a site URL

Editor: Editors have limited content management privileges. They can only view and edit the sites that they are assigned to. Any site that is created by an editor is automatically assigned to him/her but this editor can later be removed from the site by an administrator. Editors can

  • publish any site they are assigned to

  • delete any site they are assigned to

  • change the viewing permissions on any site they are assigned to

Editors cannot edit the themes in the account or view themes that have been hidden from them. However, editors cannot change any of the metadata on a site they are added to: templates, labels, URLs or assignments for example.

Author: Authors are like editors in most ways, differing only in that authors, even created the site, cannot:

  • publish any site without approval, or

  • change the viewing permissions of a site

Authors, like editors, can only

  • only view the sites that they have been assigned to

  • only delete sites that they created before the site has been published for the first time

  • create and edit sites that they are assigned to but cannot change the metadata of these sites.

Authors also cannot edit the themes in the account or view themes that have been hidden from them.

How to Change Assigned User Roles

The user role is initially set when a new user is added to your account (for more information on adding users to your account click here). However, you may wish to change the user roles of active users or you enable user roles after your account already has active users.

To change a user role :

  1. Click on Account menu (person icon) at the bottom of the left side bar.

  2. Select Account from the drop down menu.

  3. Select the Team tab.

  4. Click the Edit button.

  5. Select the desired user role from the User Role drop down menu in the popup box.

  6. Click OK to save the change.

Did this answer your question?